alumni events


The Dinos 5th Quarter Association is excited to announce former Chicago Bears and Miami Dolphins head coach Dave Wannstedt as guest speaker for the upcoming 2017 Alumni Dinner on Thursday April 27th, 2017 at Hotel Arts. As usual, cocktails will be served commencing at 5pm, followed by dinner at 6:30pm.

Information below wil be updated shortly

Download the 2017 Sponsorship Information Package.

Silent & Live Auction Items List

2017 Sponsors Page

Dinner Sponsorship **Sold out**


Tickets and Tables **SOLD OUT**


Follow a player program

In what has become a dinner tradition, current Dino Football players can be purchased at a cost of $1,000 each. This is a key part of our fundraising effort, last year raising over $40,000 for Dinos Football Scholarship. Your donation to the Follow A Player program is fully tax receiptable.



The Dinos 5th Quarter Dinner started after the team’s first Vanier Cup triumph on November 19, 1983. The first Dinner was held the following spring at the Danish Cultural Centre and featured former CFL great George Reed and the late sports columnist Jim Coleman as keynote speakers. The original organizing committee consisted of John Siroishka, Al Bailey, the late Sandy Harvie, all of whom had sons on the 1983 Championship team as well as Coach Peter Connellan and former players Gary Durbeniuk and Cal Broadhurst, both of whom were instrumental in the founding of the Dinos Football 5th Quarter. The Dinner eventually outgrew the confines of the Danish Cultural Center and moved to the Red & White Club at McMahon Stadium where over 500 people attended. In 1996 following the previous year’s Vanier Cup triumph, the event moved downtown and has become one of the premier sportsman’s dinners in Calgary, frequently attracting over 1,000 supporters. The continued growth of the dinner is a testament to the energy and commitment of the many alumni and friends of the program who have given generously of their time and money over the past 26 years.

Past guest speakers

2016: Dan O'Toole & Jay Onrait - Fox Sports 1

2015: Dave Dickenson & Bo Levi Mitchell - 2014 Grey Cup Champions

2014: Damon Allen - CFL Hall of Fame, Grey Cup winning QB

2013: Roy Firestone - Emmy Award Winner

2012: Mark Cohon - CFL Commissioner

2011: Duane Forde – Grey Cup Champion & TSN Analyst

2010: Jeff Garcia – NFL Pro Bowl QB

2009: Bob Lamey – Indianapolis Colts

2008: Tim Brant – ABC Sports

2007: Bill Polian – Indianapolis Colts

2006: Joe Tiller – Purdue University

2005: Michele Tafoya – ABC/ESPN Sports

2004: Tom Higgins – Edmonton Eskimos

2003: Ron MacLean – CBC Sports

2002: Van Earl Wright – Fox Sports

2001: Keith Jackson – ABC Sports

2000: Dan Fouts – ABC Sports

1999: Ben Davidson – Oakland Raiders

1998: Chris Berman – ESPN

1997: Dick Jonckowski – University of Minnesota

1996: Erik Kramer – Chicago Bears

1995: Dave Cutler – Edmonton Eskimos

1994: Dick Irvin / Tom Renney – Hockey Night In Canada/Canadian Olympic Team

1993: Larry Smith – Canadian Football League Commissioner

1992: Ron MacLean / Dave King – HNIC/ Canadian Olympic Team

1991: Peter Liske – Calgary Stampeders Alumni

1990: Ron Lancaster – Hamilton Tiger Cats

1989: Don Bryant / John Helton – University of Nebraska/Calgary Stampeders

1988: Dave King / Fred Biletnikoff – Canadian National Team/Oakland Raiders

1987: Matt Dunigan – Edmonton Eskimos

1986: Bob Vespaziani – Calgary Stampeders

1985: Steve Buratto – Calgary Stampeders

1984: Jim Coleman / George Reed – Southam Newspapers/Sask. Roughriders